What is Facebook?

Facebook is a popular free social networking website that allows registered users to create profiles, upload photos and video, send messages and keep in touch with friends, family and colleagues. The site, which is available in 37 different languages, includes public features such as:

Marketplace - allows members to post, read and respond to classified ads.

Groups - allows members who have common interests to find each other and interact.

Events - allows members to publicize an event, invite guests and track who plans to attend.

Pages - allows members to create and promote a public page built around a specific topic.

Presence technology - allows members to see which contacts are online and chat.

Within each member's personal profile, there are several key networking components. The most popular is arguably the Wall, which is essentially a virtual bulletin board. Messages left on a member's Wall can be text, video or photos. Another popular component is the virtual Photo Album. Photos can be uploaded from the desktop or directly from a smartphone camera. There is no limitation on quantity, but Facebook staff will remove inappropriate or copyrighted images. An interactive album feature allows the member's contacts (who are called generically called "friends") to comment on each other's photos and identify (tag) people in the photos. Another popular profile component is status updates, a micro-blogging feature that allows members to broadcast short Twitter-like announcements to their friends. All interactions are published in a news feed, which is distributed in real-time to the member's friends.

Who Can See your Stuff?

Consider only letting your "Friends" see everything.

Remember though when tagging is involved, you need to be mindful that often 'friends of friends' can also see who and what you tag. For up-to-date tagging info, visit: http://on.fb.me/PQzwdD.

1. Click the Privacy shortcut(top right)
2. Click "Who can see my stuff"
3. Under "Who can see my future posts", selects Friends from the drop down list.

Note. Check out what your timeline looks like to the public by using the "View As"... tool in your privacy shortcuts.

Keep an eye on your timeline

1. Click the Privacy shortcut(top right)
2. Click on See More Settings then Timeline and Tagging
3. Turn on Review posts friends tag you in so you can choose what's visible on your timeline

Ensure you can't be found in a public web search!

1. Click the Drop Down(top right)
2. Settings, then Privacy Settings
3. Who can look me up?
4. Do you want other search engines to link to your Timeline?
5. Click edit and remove tick from box.

Who can see your posts?

Facebook has in-line privacy controls so you can set your audience to : "Private", "Friends", "Friends of Friends", "Public", before you post a status update.

Note.

The "Activity Log" is only visible to you. This tool makes it easier for you to review your posts and makes changes to the audience of past content.

How to Manage your Friends List

Think about creating 'friend lists' in order to share different information with you chosen audiences.

How to Create Friend Lists

1. From your home page, scroll down to the Friends section and select More.
2. Then select "Create List"
3. Write in the list's name.
4. Enter names of friends you want to add to the list in the "Members Section"
5. Click "Create".

The new list will now be an option when you add friends to lists.

Organise Friend Lists

1. Choose a Friend List.
2. Click "Manage List" button( Top right, under Home button).
3. "Edit List" allows you to remove or add friends to the list.
4. Click on a friend to remove.
5. Click on top left drop down and select "Friends". Click on who to add to the list.
6. Click "Finish" to add them.

Stay in Charge

Be in control

Use the "Privacy Checkup Dinosaur"?

Click on the padlock and the dinosaur will be there to help you with your privacy settings.

Here you will see:

- Who can see my stuff?
- Who can contact me?
- How do I stop someone bothering me?

Note.

- Facebook's privacy settings help you control who can see your stuff on Facebook and how you connect with other people. To find out more, check out the NEW "Privacy Basics" here "www.facebook.com/about/basics"

- Consider the amount of information you want to share with different people. Do you want to share the same things with your work colleagues as your friends?

How Do I Report a Problem?

Report abuse to Facebook

If you feel that you are being bullied on Facebook, you can report it on the site using the "Drop Down" in the corner of any post. Use the "Social Reporting" feature to get help from a parent, teacher or trusted friend without reporting the bully directly.

"Note". The Social Reporting tool can be really useful if a friend posts something like an embarrassing photo which may not break Facebook’s rules. To learn more about Social Reporting go to "www.facebook.com/report"

Remember to take evidence and block abusive users by choosing the "Block" option by clicking the cog icon on the front of their "Timeline". Blocking someone means they will no longer be able to contact you on Facebook.

You can track progress of your reports using the "Support Dashboard", which will also alert you when a decision has been made about your report. You can find this by clicking the "Drop Down" (top right ) and selecting "Settings", "Support Dashboard". If content isn’t removed, the reporter will be told why. More information on the "Support Dashboard" can be found here: "http://on.fb.me/IRcv7q".

"Note". Reporting features are the same across all devices.

How Do you Deactivate your Account?

If you deactivate your Facebook account, your timeline will not be erased, but temporarily suspended. No one will be able to find you account and it will no longer appear in Friends lists.

1. Click the "Drop Down"
2. "Settings"
3. "Security" (left hand side of page).
4. "Deactivate your account.

* All data and information in the account will be kept and can be reactivated at any time.

How do I permanently delete my Facebook account?

1. Click the "Drop Down"
2. "Help"
3. Type "How do I permanently delete my account?" and follow the link to "Submit your request here".

* Warning! Your Facebook account will become "deactivated" for 14 days and will be deleted if you do no not use it in that time.