What is Snapchat?

Snapchat is a photo messaging app with a twist. Users can take photos, record videos, add text and drawings and send them to people. These 'Snaps' aren't saved by default so it feels like socialising without leaving a trial behind you. Once everyone has viewed a Snap, Snapchat's system is designed to automatically delete if from their servers.

Opened Snaps typically cannot be retrieved from Snapchat's servers by anyone, for any reason. Upon registration 'Team Snapchat' will automatically send you a series of 'Snaps' to take you through the basics.

Age Restrictions

Snapchat is for people over the age of 13. It is not intended for children under the age of 13. Teens aged 13-17 should have permission from a parent or legal guardian to use the app. If a child is under the age of 13 and has created a Snapchat account the account can be deleted by going to https://accounts.snapchat.com/accounts/delete_account and entering the child's username and password. If Snapchat obtains knowledge that a user is under the age of 13 they will terminate the account.

Note: If you forget your password you can submit a password reset request to Snapchat at: https://accounts.snapchat.com/accounts/password_reset_request

How can I Stay in Control?

Changing Your Privacy Settings

By default, only users you add to your friends list can send you Snaps. If someone who isn't your friend tries to send you a Snap, you'll receive a notification that they added you, but will only receive the Snap when you add them to your friends list.

To change who can send you Snaps:

Tap ghost on the camera screen to access your profile, then tap the gear icon in the upper right corner of the screen.

Tap the 'Send me Snaps...' option and choose either:

'Everyone' - This allows anyone to send you Snaps (even strangers).
'My Friends' - Only your friends are able to send you Snaps.

To change who can send you Stories

Swipe right on the camera screen to access your profile, then tap the gear icon on the upper-right corner of the screen.

Tap the 'View my Stories...' option and choose either:

'Everyone' - This allows anyone to see your Stories(even strangers).
'My Friends' - Only your friends are able to send you Stories.
'Custom' - This allows you to choose which friends can see your stories.

Note: To clear a conversation, tap ghost, then tap the gear in the top right corner and scroll down to find 'Clear Conversations'.

How do I Find all my Friends?

Finding and Adding Friends

Tap the ghost on the camera screen.

To add a friend who has added you, tap 'Added me', locate their username in the list, then tap the plus icon next to their name.

To add friends from your device's contact list, tap the address book icon(you may be prompted to verify your phone number). Once verified, all of your phone contacts with Snapchat accounts will be displayed, along with friends who don't have Snapchat who you can invited via SMS.

To add friends who aren't in your list of contacts, tap the 'Add Friend' icon and type in their Snapchat username. Tap the plus icon to add them as a friend.

If you don't want friends to find you through your phone number:

Tap ghost on the camera screen, then tap the gear icon in the upper-right corner.

Tap 'Mobile Number'.

Untick 'Allow my friends to find me' to unlink your phone number.

How Do I Block and Delete?

Blocking and Deleting Friends

Blocking someone on Snapchat means they will be prevented from sending you Snaps, Chats or viewing your Stories. If you delete someone, they won't receive your Snaps, but they could still send them to you. To block or delete a contact:

Tap the username you want to block or delete in your 'My Contacts' page.

Tap the gear icon that appears next to their name.

Select 'Block' to prevent Snaps, Chats or from them viewing your Stories.
Select 'Delete' to remove them from your friends list.

To unblock a user:

Tap the username, then tap the gear icon next to their name.
Select 'Unblock' and the user will be added back to your friends list.

Note: Full terms of use can be found here: www.snapchat.com/terms

How Do I Report a Problem?

Snapchat is about sharing moments and having fun. They encourage self-expression but respect their users needs for this to be balanced against being able to use the app safely and enjoyably. They don't tolerate 'Snaps' that share:

Pornography, Nudity or sexually suggestive involving people under the age of 18.
Young People(under 18s) engaged in activities physically dangerous and harmful.
Invasions of privacy or Impersonation
Threats, Harassment or Bullying
Self-Harm

Snapchat may remove this type of content, suspend accounts sending it and prohibit them from using Snapchat in the future.

Snapchat's reporting functions are the same across all devices. Mobile and tablet users can find all the reporting routes by tapping on the ghost on the camera screen; tapping the gear icon and choosing 'Support'. Desktop users can follow the links below for reporting:

Inappropriate Content: https://support.snapchat.com/co/inappropriate
Harassment: https://support.snapchat.com/co/harassment
Impersonation: https://support.snapchat.com/co/impersonation
Another Abuse of Safety Issue: https://support.snapchat.com/co/other-abuse

What Else Can I Do on Snapchat?

Geofilters

This is a fun way to share where you are through filter overlays. They are specific to neighbourhoods' and their unique designs will change from place-to-place, so require your device location settings to be enabled. Remember, if you add a Geofilter to your Snap or Story, you're publicising your whereabouts to anyone you share it with.

Video Chat

When you and a friend are both present in Chat, the yellow icon will turn blue. Press and hold the blue 'Here' icon to immediately start video chatting. When your friend presses and holds the blue 'Here' icon on their screen at the same time you do, you'll immediately be in a two-way video chat.

Stories

'My Stories' string Snaps together to create a narrative that lasts 24 hours. Depending on their privacy settings, the photos and videos added to a Story can be viewed by either all Snapchatters, just the user's friends, or a customized group.

Our Stories

'Our Stories' are a stream of user submitted Snaps from various locations and events. Users who have their location services on at the same event location will be given the option to contribute Snaps to the Our Story. The end result is a Story told from a community perspective with lots of different view points.